Rose Training

Cardinal de Richelieu

Cardinal de Richelieu

Over the Easter break I visited a garden that’s long been on my bucket list: Sissinghurst. It certainly lived up to expectations in many ways, but I particularly  loved seeing it at this time of year when much of the structure of the garden is still laid bare and not partially hidden by flowers and lush foliage.

One thing I found especially fascinating was seeing the carefully trained roses.

Ombree Parfaite

Ombree Parfaite

They have all been tied down so painstakingly that I found it almost as stunning to look at as a fully flowering plant. Of course training roses horizontally or arching the stems back down towards the ground doesn’t just make them look neatly trained, it promotes new growth and flowering all along the stems rather than just at the tips.

Gerbe Rose

Gerbe Rose

Tuscany Superb

Tuscany Superb

Some of these plants are trained on fairly compact structures which could be copied in a smallish garden.

I’m really hoping I will find time to go back later in the year and see them when they are flowering.

Pax

Pax

This entry was posted in gardens, Plants, roses, Spring and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.