The first proper frost of winter

DSC_0468a

We’ve only had very mild frosts here so far, mostly gone by the time I’ve been up and about. So I was quite excited to look out of the window this morning and see a thick white frost everywhere.

DSC_0422a

I had an hour to myself so decided to go for a walk in Bayhurst Wood (part of Ruislip Woods National Nature Reserve). DSC_0441aI love a walk in the woods at any time of year, but walking on a sunny, frosty morning is particularly magical and relaxing.DSC_0463aDSC_0444a

I really need to work out how to get a balance between looking through my camera and just watching and enjoying wildlife: as I was finishing my walk I saw, out of the corner of my eye, a tiny bird I didn’t recognise, but was too late to stop and watch quietly – I’d already disturbed it and didn’t catch enough detail to be able to identify it.

DSC_0462aDSC_0447a

This entry was posted in Bayhurst Wood, Frost, Ruislip Woods, Winter, Woods. Bookmark the permalink.